Sports (174)

Super Eagle captain John Obi Mikel will begin his career with Chinese side Tianjin Teda on January 11, 2017.

Mikel officially joined the Chinese side three days ago after passing a routine medical checkup, bringing to an end a ten and half year stay at Stamford Bridge.
The Nigerian midfielder is expected to be dressed for Tianjin Teda when they take on German side Borussia Monchen-glad-bach in a friendly game.
If he does not take part in the tie, he will be expected to be in the lineup when they take on another German side St. Pauli on the 14th in another friendly encounter.
Mikel is expected to play in one of the two games before they take on Romanian side Dinamo Bucharest in their last test game ahead of the start of the Chinese Super League in February.

Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez has won the 2016 CAF African Footballer of the Year.

He received the award at a gala in Abuja, on Thursday.

The Leicester City wide man, beat off competition from last year’s winner, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

It is the first time Mahrez has been nominated for the prize; after he helped the Foxes win the 2015/2016 Premier League title, despite the 5,000-1 odds against them.


Nigeria’s Kelechi Iheanacho emerged Africa’s Most Promising Player, Alex Iwobi won the 2016 Youth Player of the Year award while Asisat Oshoala who scored six goals at the last Women’s AFCON emerged Africa’s Women Footballer of the Year.
Super Falcons of Nigeria were crowned as the Best Women National Team to cap their impressive performance as winners of the 2016 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroun.

President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Pinnick has inaugurated the new Board of the Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL .

Speaking at the inauguration on Thursday, Pinnick charged the new Board of the NWFL to work with passion and commitment to lift the women’s League to a new height.

Independent chairman of the Board, Aisha Falode who said it was a great honor for her and other members to be called upon to serve, commended the past Boards for doing their best, but added that the incoming executive has to work hard to improve and achieve results.

Falode, who is also a member of the CAF Media Committee and CAF Match Commissioner, promised that the new Board will address issues of structure, players’ welfare to ensure that the women league is functional, compact and competitive.

The 25th edition of the annual Confederation of African Football, CAF Awards and the Awards Gala is holding in Abuja today.

At the ceremony, the African Footballer of the Year will be crowned from among the trio of last year’s winner, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Riyad Mahrez of Algeria and Senegalese Sadio Mane.

Winners of the prestigious honour have come from either the midfield or attack; and that tradition will be respected this time again, as the three contenders are attackers.

15 players have laid claim to the most prestigious individual honour in African football since inception of the awards in 1992.

In addition, the 15 players decorated since 1992, have continued to remain amongst the foremost African ambassadors of the world’s most popular sport.

  1. Popular
  2. Trending


« October 2017 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31