Written by  Jan 06, 2017

Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez has won the 2016 CAF African Footballer of the Year.

He received the award at a gala in Abuja, on Thursday.

The Leicester City wide man, beat off competition from last year’s winner, Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

It is the first time Mahrez has been nominated for the prize; after he helped the Foxes win the 2015/2016 Premier League title, despite the 5,000-1 odds against them.


Nigeria’s Kelechi Iheanacho emerged Africa’s Most Promising Player, Alex Iwobi won the 2016 Youth Player of the Year award while Asisat Oshoala who scored six goals at the last Women’s AFCON emerged Africa’s Women Footballer of the Year.
Super Falcons of Nigeria were crowned as the Best Women National Team to cap their impressive performance as winners of the 2016 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroun.

WE 106.3 FM

operated by Kings Broadcasting Limited; a licensed six station (Abuja, Lagos, Port Harcourt, Benin, Jos and Kano) broadcasting group based and starting off from Abuja.


Leave a comment

  1. Popular
  2. Trending


« June 2017 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30